Criminal Defense Attorney
Start Your Free Consultation Now 321.248.7742
We Fight For Your Freedom

Insurance Consequences

When a person is convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) in Florida, the penalties involve certain costs such as fines that can ultimately be forgotten about once they are paid. One financial aspect that can hang over the heads of those convicted concerns the rates they will be charged for automobile insurance.

Car insurance is a frequent concern of alleged offenders charged with DUI, and insurance companies may even drop a person’s coverage altogether. If you are convicted of DUI, you will be required to file an FR-44 Form that entails significantly higher insurance minimums.

Melbourne Lawyer Discusses DUI Insurance Consequences

Are you concerned about whether you will be able to receive or pay for automobile insurance after a recent DUI arrest? You can give yourself the best chance of keeping your coverage at affordable rates by having your charges reduced or dismissed.

The Brevard County criminal attorney at Law Offices of Bryan J. McCarthy also represent clients accused of drunk driving in communities all over Seminole County, Orange County, Indian River County, Volusia County, and Osceola County. Call (321) 253-3447 right now to have them review your case during a completely free initial consultation.

Overview of Insurance Consequences After Brevard County DUI Arrests

  • When does a driver have to acquire FR-44 insurance?
  • What are the policy limits of an FR-44 Form?
  • Are there any ways to keep insurance affordable?
  • Where can learn more about insurance issues after a DUI?

FR-44 Insurance Requirements in Florida

Drivers who are convicted of DUI will have their driver’s licenses revoked for up to one year. In order to have their licenses reinstated, these drivers must obtain FR-44 Forms to present to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV).

A driver’s insurance company will prepare the FR-44 and file it with the DHSMV, but simply requesting this form will usually result in the insurance company classifying the motorist as high risk. Most drivers are required to maintain FR-44 coverage for three years.

FR-44 Insurance Limits in Florida

The DHSMV began requiring FR-44 verification on February 15, 2008. Unlike the old “10/20/10” limits of Form SR-22 requirements, FR-44 involves much higher policy limits.

With an FR-44, a motorist must maintain 100/300/50 limits, which translate to:

  • $100,000 per person for bodily injuries;
  • $300,000 for all bodily injury to all persons; and
  • $50,000 for property damage claims.

Ways to Keep Car Insurance Rates Low After a DUI Conviction

Because drivers must notify their insurance companies of their need for FR-44 forms, motorists cannot hope that their DUI convictions go undiscovered. As a result, drivers are typically left with very few options to avoid significant increases in insurance rates.

Motorists may be able to soften the financial blow by trading in their cars for automobiles that are older or have additional safety features and are significantly less for companies to insure. Drivers can also seek increased deductibles such that their monthly payment is reduced.

Far and away, the best way for motorists to avoid suffering a spike in their insurance rates is to avoid being convicted in the first place. Even if you plead guilty to a reduced charge, it will not carry the same insurance consequences that a DUI conviction does.

Florida Resources for DUI Insurance

Drunk Driving — The Insurance Information Institute (I.I.I.) has a mission to improve public understanding of insurance, and the organization provides a variety of definitive insurance information. You can review a wide variety of statistics and information on this section of the I.I.I. website, including alcohol-related fatalities, state laws, and the percent of alcohol-impaired drivers involved in fatal crashes by age.

Florida Statute § 324.023 — You can read the full text of the financial responsibility requirements that became effective in Florida in February 2008. The statute also links to separate statutes discussing DUI offenses and manners of proving financial responsibility.

Find a Lawyer in Melbourne for Help with Insurance Concerns After DUI

If you have concerns about your insurance rates after being arrested for drunk driving in Brevard County, you will want to make sure that you have legal representation as soon as possible. Law Offices of Bryan J. McCarthy defends clients in Cocoa, Palm Bay, Titusville, Indian Harbour Beach, Rockledge, and many other communities in and around Brevard County/

The Law Offices ofBryan J. McCarthy have the legal experience to handle both first and repeat DUI cases. You can have our Melbourne criminal defense attorney review your case by calling(321) 248-7742 to schedule a free, confidential consultation.