Brevard County DUI School
For individuals arrested for DUI who live or work in Brevard County, the DUI school requirement must be completed through the only approved DUI school called the “Florida Safety Council.” The Florida Safety Council offers various DUI school courses in Brevard County, including Melbourne and Merritt Island, Florida.
If you hire an attorney to preserve your right to fight the administrative suspension of your driver’s license within 10 days of your arrest, then your Melbourne DUI Attorney will fight the administrative suspension.
Other than avoiding the 30 or 90 day hard suspension for a first offense, no downsides exist to fighting the administrative suspension under Florida law.The good news is that if your administrative suspension is invalidated, then you can obtain a valid driver’s license and continue driving pending the resolution of the DUI case in criminal court.
Even if you do not ultimately win your formal review hearing, it is still important to demand the formal review heairng so that your attorney can gain valuable information that can be used to fight the DUI case in criminal court.
Reasons To Complete DUI School
Even if you are never convicted of DUI because the prosecutor drops the charges, the judge dismisses the charges, or your DUI case is reduced to a less offense for reckless driving, you may still have to take DUI school to protect your driver’s license if you lose the administrative hearing.
In other words, the civil proceeding with the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles is completely separate from the criminal case in state court. Winning one case does not necessarily affect the other.
DUI Schools for Brevard County and the Surrounding Areas in Central Florida
If you are required to take DUI school, you must enroll in the county in which you live or work. For residents of Brevard County, Seminole County, Orange County, and Osceola County, you must take the approved DUI classes through the Florida Safety Council. The DUI classes are offered in English and Spanish. Various locations provide classes during the day, evening and weekends.
The DUI Programs in Brevard County will send proof of completion to the court, the probation officer and the Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles (DHSMV). Likewise, if you fail to complete the requirements of either Level I or Level II DUI School in Brevard County within the 90 day time limit, the DUI School will report that failure to the court, the probation officer and the Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles (DHSMV), which may result in a suspension of your driver’s license.
Brevard County DUI School Locations
Two DUI school locations are available for residents of Brevard County, including a school in Melbourne and Merritt Island. The DUI school in Melbourne is located between Airport Boulevard and Babcock Street off Hibiscus Boulevard.
You can register between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.
You can also register online for many of the classroom courses offered at the Melbourne location. Click here to register for DUI school online.Brevard County (DUI School in Melbourne) 1515 Elizabeth St. Melbourne, FL 32901 Phone Number: 321-952-5327 or 407-847-4452 Fax: 321-727-7429
The DUI school in Merritt Island is located near the intersection the Courtenay Parkway and State Road 520 in the Home Depot Plaza. You can register between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. You can also register online for many of the classroom courses offered at the Merritt Island location. Click here to register for DUI school online.Brevard County (DUI School in Merritt Island) 250 N. Courtenay Parkway 2nd Floor Merritt Island, FL 32953 Phone Number; 321-631-2347 or 407-897-4429 Fax Number: 321-639-2593
Registration Requirements for Level I or Level II DUI Schools
When you register for the Level I or Level II DUI School for Brevard County, you must provide the following documents:
- Your driver’s license or photo identification;
- Your driver’s license number;
- The DUI citations and arrest affidavit;
- If a crash occurred, then a Traffic Crash Report;
- Your Breath or Blood Alcohol Level (BAL) reading
Level One or Level I DUI School in Brevard County
If this is your first DUI arrest, then as a “first offender” you are eligible to take the Level I DUI classes. The classes are offered in English and Spanish. Pursuant to Florida State 316.192(4) and 316.193(5), the classes offered in Brevard County comply with requirements the state of Florida’s statutory requirements.
The Level I program can be ordered by the court for offenses other than DUI such as driving with an open container, or even for a DUI case that was reduced to reckless driving. Furthermore, certain individuals convicted of a driving offense out of the state of Florida may be required to take Level I DUI School in order to obtain a “Business Purposes Only” permit.
Requirements for Level II DUI School in Brevard County
Pursuant to Florida Statute 316.192(4) and (5), if you have previously been arrested for DUI and received any administrative suspension of your driver’s license, previously took a Level I class, received a conviction for DUI, or a resolution to the case for the lesser charge of reckless driving then you must complete the Level II program.
The Level One DUI school in Brevard County, FL, imposes the following requirements in order to successfully complete the program. All requirements must be completed within the first 90 days after you enroll in the program.
- Psychosocial evaluation interview by a certified DUI evaluator;
- Twelve (12) hours of classroom instruction taught by a DUI instructor certified by the State of Florida, which includes handouts, videos, lectures, and classroom discussions.
The classroom instruction focuses educating the driver about Florida laws related to DUI with a particular emphasis on consequences of repeat violations, the effects of drugs and alcohol which can impair driving, and the court and DHSMV requirements for a driver’s license reinstatement.
If you have been arrested for DUI, contact the attorneys at the Law Offices of Germain & McCarthy. Our Melbourne DUI Attorneys are experienced in fighting misdemeanor and felony cases throughout Brevard County following an arrest in Viera, West Melbourne, Melbourne Beach, Rockledge, Merritt Island, Palm Bay, Satellite Beach, Cocoa Beach, Titusville, Cape Canaveral, Cocoa, Indialantic, Indian Harbour Beach, FL.
The Melbourne DUI Attorneys at Germain & McCarthy also represent individuals charged with DUI in the surrounding counties of Seminole County, Orange County, Osceola County, Volusia County, and Indian River County.
Florida DUI Information Center
Victim Awareness Program
After any DUI conviction or even in those cases in which the charges are reduced to reckless driving, the Court may require the driver to complete the victim awareness program for Brevard County. Read more about the requirements.
Ignition Interlock Device
For certain people charged with DUI, the court may require that the driver installs an ignition interlock device as part of the resolution of the case. The ignition interlock device stops the vehicle from starting until the driver provides a breath sample into the instrument. If the instrument detects a breath alcohol reading that is more than 0.05, then the vehicle will not start. Read more about the ignition interlock device for Brevard County.
SCRAM (Secure Continuous Remote Alcohol Monitor)
In certain cases, the courts are becoming more likely to require a SCRAM device which allows the court and the probation officer to determine whether the individual is continuing to drink alcohol at any time through transdermal technology. Read more about the SCRAM device and how it is being used by the courts in Brevard County, Florida.
This article was last updated on Friday, May 18, 2018.