Criminal Defense Attorneys
Start Your Free Consultation Now 321.248.7742
We Fight For Your Freedom

DUI Costs and Fees

Driving under the influence (DUI) in Florida can result in harsh criminal penalties. DUI offenders may be forced to perform community service, participate in a DUI program, have their license suspended and even face possible incarceration. This doesn’t even include the fines, fees and hidden costs that surround DUI charges.

Battling DUI allegations can be expensive. Even if you’re not guilty, the cost of a DUI can be overwhelming. Hidden expenses such as towing, bail costs, insurance spikes, ignition interlock costs and more can hurt your financial situation. This doesn’t even include court costs if you’re convicted or post-release fines such as probation.

If you or someone you know has been charged with a DUI, it’s important that you contact an experienced criminal defense attorney.

Lawyer Explains DUI Costs in Brevard County, Florida

A DUI isn’t just stressful, it’s expensive. Whether you’re convicted or not the criminal court process is a pricey one. It’s vital that you act now before your finances are compromised.

Contact the attorneys at Law Offices of Germain & McCarthy for experienced legal representation today. Our attorneys have years of practice in criminal defense. We make sure our clients are not just informed of their legal options, but the underlying cost of those options. It’s our goal to represent you effectively without breaking your wallet. Don’t wait another moment and contact Law Offices of Germain & McCarthy now.

Law Offices of Germain & McCarthy represents those accused of DUI throughout the greater Melbourne area including Titusville, Cocoa, Cape Canaveral and Palm Bay. Call today at (321) 253-3447 to schedule a free consultation surrounding your case.

Overview of DUI Costs in Florida

  • DUI Costs After an Arrest
  • DUI Court Fines
  • Costs After DUI Conviction
  • DUI Insurance Premium Costs
  • Hidden Fines and Fees
  • Additional Resources

DUI Costs After an Arrest in Florida

If law enforcement has probable cause that you’re impaired while driving, it’s likely you’re going to be arrested. The arrest and booking process is long and overwhelming. Not only will you have to be detained, but you will have to pay the fees associated with an arrest.

Listed below are the estimated fees that may incur if you’re arrested for a DUI.

  • Bond funds – $150$2,500;
  • Towing fees – $100 (Plus additional fees for every day the car is in storage);
  • Transportation fees – $15$20;
  • Vehicle impoundment fees – $150 or more; and
  • Lost wages from missed work.

Once you’re released from jail, your license is up for suspension after 10 days. It’s recommended that you file a request for a formal review hearing with the Bureau of Administrative Review (BAR). At the review hearing you can contest the administrative suspension.

With the aid of an attorney, you can fight to refute your suspension. An attorney can use their resources, skills and strategies to help you dismiss the suspension or to obtain a hardship license.

The following are the projected costs for a formal review hearing

  • Attorney’s fees;
  • Administrative fee – $130
  • Suspension fee – $45;
  • Revocation fee – $75;
  • Filing fee for Formal Review – $25;
  • DUI program assess fee – $15;
  • Interlock fee for vendor assessment – $12;
  • Cost of hardship license – $223; and
  • Possible installation of an ignition interlock device – $170 plus monthly payments of $60.

Court Fines for a DUI in Florida

A DUI conviction can be incredibly expensive. Depending on the circumstances of the DUI, you may be forced to pay large fines. In addition, aggravating factors can lead to even steeper fines. These factors include having a child passenger during the offense or a high blood-alcohol concentration of .15.

Even if you’re not guilty you’ll likely pay attorney and filing fees. However, a guilty verdict may result in fees in the thousands. The following chart outlines the possible court fines from a DUI conviction.

First Conviction Minimum of $500; maximum of $1,000.
Second Conviction Minimum of $1,000; maximum of $2,000.
Third Conviction Minimum of $2,000; maximum of $5,000.
First Conviction with aggravating factors Minimum of $1,000; maximum of $2,000.
Second Conviction with aggravating factors Minimum of $2,000; maximum of $4,000.
Third Conviction with aggravating factors Minimum of $2,000; maximum of $5,000.
DUI with Property Damage or Injury Maximum of $1,000
DUI with Serious Bodily Injury Maximum of $5,000
Fourth DUI within 10 years Maximum of $5,000
DUI Manslaughter Maximum of $10,000

Costs After a DUI Conviction in Florida

Unfortunately, the fees don’t stop after court. If you’re convicted for a DUI, you will be required to complete certain statutory conditions. One of these is to attend a DUI program or school. The Florida Safety Council manages DUI classes for Brevard County and offers level I and level II courses. The following are the costs for DUI school:

  • Level I DUI class – $275;
  • Level II DUI class – $420; and
  • Substance abuse evaluation and treatment costs.

Some DUI offenders are required to be on probation. Probation comes with its own set of costs and hidden fees. The following is an estimated total for a probation term:

  • Supervision fees – $40 monthly;
  • Intake or drug testing – $17 to $20 for each test; and
  • Rehabilitation costs.

DUI Insurance Premium Costs

Insurance companies have their own set of costs for people convicted of traffic crimes. Convicted DUI offenders are obligated to file an FR-22. An FR-22 is similar to a SR-22 and is required after certain criminal convictions. A Florida FR-22 comes with much higher liability limits than an SR-22.

If you’ve been convicted of a DUI, you must obtain a FR-44 Form to reinstate your driver’s license. You then must maintain your FR-44 for three years to retain your driving privileges. Your status will be changed to “high risk” with your insurance company and your premiums will likely skyrocket.

The Florida FR-44 form follows the 100/30/50 liability limits. These limits include:

  • Bodily injury liability – $100,000;
  • Every re-occurrence – $300,00; and
  • Property damage liability – $50,000.

If you wish to reinstate your license you must pay:

  • First suspension – $150;
  • Second suspension – $250; and
  • Third suspension – $500.

Additional Fees and Costs from a DUI Conviction

It may seem unbelievable, but the costs don’t stop at increased insurance premiums. A DUI conviction can lead to other hidden costs depending on your circumstances. Listed below are some underlying expenses and fees associated with a DUI conviction.

  • Increased health or life insurance premiums;
  • Lost job opportunities;
  • Possible medical costs;
  • Expungement or sealing costs; and
  • Possible car repairs.

It’s obvious that a DUI conviction is costly. The best advice is to try and avoid conviction altogether. Hiring an attorney can significantly increase your chances of having your DUI charges reduced or dismissed. An attorney can gather evidence, attend formal review hearings and fight for you in court. You may be able to avoid criminal charges or have a reduced charge.


Additional Resources

DUI Fine Chart – Visit the official website for the Brevard County Clerk to access a DUI fine chart. Examine this chart to see the possible projected costs for your DUI.

Brevard County DUI School – Visit the official website for the Florida Safety Council, an organization that manages DUI classes in Brevard County. Find more information on the course costs, what’s required in the classes and how to apply online.


Attorney for DUI Costs and Fees in Melbourne, Florida

If you or someone you know has been charged with a DUI, it’s vital that you seek legal counsel. A DUI can not only put you in jail but also affect your finances. The fines and fees associated with a DUI are enormous, and a conviction will lead to even more costs. Call the attorneys at Law Offices of Germain & McCarthy for skilled legal representation.

The attorneys at Law Offices of Germain & McCarthy have years of experience in criminal defense. We have the right skills and strategies to combat your charges. Let us guide you and save your wallet. Contact the attorneys for a free consultation.

Law Offices of Germain & McCarthy represents clients throughout the greater Brevard County area and surrounding counties including Indian River County and Volusia County.

Why Hire Germain & McCarthy?

  • Our attorneys have over 20 years of combined experience.
  • We have an exceptional reputation & hundreds of happy clients.
  • Our attorneys have a proven track record in handling cases like yours.
  • We offer free consultations to all of our clients no matter the case.
  • We are available and accessible 24/7 for all of your legal needs.