Felony DUI Manslaughter
The Law Offices of Germain & McCarthy criminal defense attorneys are experienced in defending DUI offenses throughout the Brevard County area, including Malabar, Cocoa, Cape Canaveral, Palm Bay, Grant-Valkaria, Indialantic, Melbourne Beach, Indian Harbor Beach, Melbourne, Melbourne Village, Palm Shores, Rockledge, Satellite Beach, Titusville, Cocoa Beach and West Melbourne.
Melbourne DUI Manslaughter Defense Lawyer
Our DUI attorneys represent clients for DUI Vehicular Manslaughter charges. Contact us for adequate legal representation if you are facing felony DUI charges relating to vehicular manslaughter.
Penalties Felony DUI Vehicular Manslaughter under Florida Law
According to Florida’s statute for driving under the influence relating to manslaughter and vehicular homicide accusations, the suspect operating an automobile while under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance, as a result of drunk driving produced or contributed to the cause of the death of victim.
DUI Vehicular Manslaughter is a second-degree felony punishable by up to $10,000 in fines and/or 15 years imprisonment. If the DUI offender knowingly leaves the scene after an accident occurred and failed to give information or report the accident for law enforcement and medical assistance then the DUI suspect may be guilty of a first-degree felony punishable by up to $ 10,000 in fines and/or 30 years imprisonment.
In addition, any offender whose driving privileges are suspended for DUI Manslaughter or Vehicular Homicide is guilty of a 3rd-degree felony, punishable by both jail time up to 5 years and/or a fine no more than $5,000.
If convicted of Felony DUI Vehicular Manslaughter in Florida it is mandatory that the offender’s driver’s license be permanently canceled. There is a minimum 3 year revocation period for DUI vehicular manslaughter offenders with no prior record. If the offender has no prior DUI related convictions, they may qualify for hardship reinstatement after 5 years have passed from the revocation date or the term of incarceration if the following requirements are met:
- The offender hasn’t been arrested for a drug-related offense for at least five years preceding the hearing;
- The offender hasn’t driven a motor vehicle without a license for at least five years preceding the hearing;
- The offender remained sober of alcohol and drugs for at least five years prior to the hearing; and
- The offender completed a DUI school program and was supervised under the DUI program for the remainder of the revocation period; failure to report for counseling or treatment will result in cancellation of the hardship license.
- Automobile ignition interlock device required for two years.
Convicted DUI vehicular manslaughter offenders with no prior DUI related convictions are permitted to instantly apply for a hardship reinstatement hearing, but are still required to complete DUI School or an advanced driver improvement course before hardship reinstatement.
In the case of DUI offenses including serious bodily injury or death, forceful withdrawal of blood may be necessary by an authorized medical personnel with the use of reasonable force by the law enforcement officer.
Law Offices of Germain & McCarthy | Vehicular Manslaughter in Brevard County
Contact the Law Offices of Germain & McCarthy if you are facing charges relating to DUI Vehicular Manslaughter in Brevard County, Volusia County, Seminole County, Osceola County, Indian River County or Orange County. Let our criminal defense attorneys represent your DUI case for aggressive, experienced legal defense. Call (321) 253-3447 or submit you case details in our online form for an immediate consultation.