A sex crime conviction can change the rest of your life. In Florida, sexual offenses carry penalties in addition to jail time and possible fines. Those considered sex offenders have certain requirements they must meet even after their prison sentence is completed. Being labeled a sex offender can affect your job, career and personal relationships.
According to Florida law, a person convicted of a sex crime must register as a sex offender. When a person registers, his or her full name, address, picture, details of the crime and other information will be considered public record.
Now, most of the databases are available on the Internet and accessible by anyone. Once your name is in the database, the information is considered public. Employers and landlords can see it, which could affect them considering you for a job or apartment.
If you have been convicted of a sexual offense and need guidance, contact a Brevard County sex crimes defense attorney at Law Offices of Germain & McCarthy, LLC. The attorneys are knowledgeable in all areas of Florida's sex offender registration laws and can help you if you have been accused of violating the statutes.
Call (321) 253-3447 to schedule a free case evaluation to discuss your sex offender registration case. Law Offices of Germain & McCarthy, LLC represents clients throughout Central and Eastern Florida, including Melbourne, Winter Park, Orlando, Deltona, Holly Hill, Sanford, Vero Beach, Kissimmee and Saint Cloud.
According to Florida Statues Annotated § 775.21, the state is able to impose additional requirements on those who are convicted of sexually based offenses because sexual predators present a high level of threat to public safety. Those requirements include registering as a sex offender.
If you are convicted of a sex crime and not in custody of the Department of Corrections, you must register as a sex offender with the Florida Department of Law Enforcement through the local sheriff's office within 48 hours of establishing residency in the county.
When registering, you must provide the following to the local law enforcement agency:
The temporary residence should include any address in-state or out of state, in addition to a rural route address or a post office box. If the person does not have a permanent or temporary address, any transient residence within the state, including address, location, and description, should be provided.
If the person registering lives in a mobile home, trailer, motor vehicle, manufactured home or houseboat, he or she also must provide the department with information about the home, including the serial number and descriptions of its exterior.
If the offender is enrolled in or employed at a higher education institute, he or she has to include the name, address, and county of each campus attended. The enrollment or employment status also must be included.
If the offender has an electronic mail or an instant messaging screen name, he or she must provide that to law enforcement as well. The department will establish an online system through which the offender can securely access and update all electronic mail and instant message name information.
A sex offender must acquire a new driver's license or identification card within 48 hours of registering with the local sheriff's office. The sheriff's office will send the offender's photograph, fingerprints and other information to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
The offender must present proof of registration and then must get a new driver's license or identification card. The information given to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles must match that given to law enforcement.
Any time the offender's address or other information changes, his or her driver's license must be updated within 48 hours and law enforcement must be notified, according to Florida law. The offender has to pay the costs of issuing a new driver's license each time.
Any sex offender who fails to register or fails to update law enforcement of any changes in the information that was provided or fails to get a new driver's license is guilty of a third-degree felony. In Florida, a third-degree felony is punishable by up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000.
Also, if the offender does not respond to any address verification correspondence from the department within 3 weeks, he or she would be guilty of a third-degree felony.
If a sex offender who was convicted of a crime involving a minor is found to be working or volunteering at a child care facility, school, park or other place where children are regularly present, he or she is guilty of a third-degree felony.
If you have been charged with violating the sex offender registration requirement, you need an experienced attorney for your case. Call Law Offices of Germain & McCarthy, LLC at (321) 253-3447 to schedule a free case evaluation to discuss your sex offender registration case.